Halito Sisters & Brothers,

Recently, it was brought to my attention that apparently Choctaw Wright was reported for assuming a false identity and Facebook had pulled the page.  Therefore, I want to announce the end of Choctaw Wright.  I had given thought to attempting to retrieve the page, but, as most of you know I have already revealed my true identity. I have decided to write my opinions under my real name of Stephanie Crowder.  For the benefit of our people, I am descended from the Jones, Bacon, Leflore, Crowder and Gardner families.  I will be posting on my personal Facebook account. So, if you “friended” Choctaw Wright, please send a friend request to Stephanie Crowder to receive announcements.

I hope this blog post finds you excited about the coming elections for leadership of the Chahta people. Along those lines, I want all of you to know that I am not supporting any candidate at this time.  I may share candidate notices on my Facebook but it’s only to promote the democratic process.  I believe the Chahta people deserve all of the information regarding each candidate and their platforms. We have a right and an obligation to vote, but, we must have all of the information available to make informed, intelligent decisions on which candidate will best serve the needs of all the members of this great Choctaw Nation. When we take the information we have been provided to the polls, the stronger our election process will becomes.  We also have an obligation to voice our opinions and on this I think we have come so much farther than we were even three years ago.  I would like to think I had a small part in that transition, but, there are many Chahtas’ who have been fighting this fight for a very long time. I am humbled to follow in their paths in the ongoing quest for transparency and integrity in our government.

One thing regarding our existing government that I would like to emphasize and give thanks for, is that we can fight for transparency and democracy without the threat of repercussions from Miko Batton.  I don’t agree with everything he may be instituting, but I am a supporter of the positive changes he is making as Chief.  Chahtas’ especially Chahta employees can now have the freedom to vote for the candidate they choose.  If for some reason, you are pressured or overtly threatened to vote a certain way, please contact me.  We must continue with progressive, positive change while moving forward and stomp out those who would force us back into our dark ages.

As the blog reaches almost 70,000 hits, I want to thank so many people for your continued support. I want to reiterate that as Chahta’s, it is our right as well as our responsibilities to make changes in our government that benefit our members equally.  The blog started out as an angry rant but has now turned into something more positive as well. There are a group of remarkable Chahta Ohoyo’s to thank for this change.  They have encouraged me to turn my personal injustice into a vehicle for change for our people as a whole. I am so invigorated because what began as a small group of Chahta Women has permeated through Chahta families, once again proving the power of good people committed to change.

I am currently gathering a list of questions for all candidates running for office.  If you would like to have a question answered or at least asked please email me at stephaniecrowder@live.com. Or add it here on the CVB blog.

I look forward to receiving your questions and providing new and innovative ways (expect another announcement soon) to connect with our Chahta people.  Chi Hollo Li.

Chi pisa la chike,

CW (S. Crowder)

(Stephanie Crowder has written under the pseudonym Choctaw Wright and Muriel Wright since December 21, 2011)

