Halito Sisters & Brothers,

There has been much said about the last blog post entitled BLANK and I felt the need to respond.  Many people have asked me what changed my opinion about Miko Batton.  After reading the testimony from the Merida trial I remembered when I was employed with the CNO Federal Agencies visiting the complex which is not unusual but someone said “Assistant had an audit and they found something, heads are gonna roll”.

That was toward the end of my tenure in 2011 and the timeline fits.  In addition, MIKO Batton has made strides toward distinguishing his time as Chief versus the former Roberts/Pyle regime.  He has begun an office of accountability (I don’t know the official title), he has set in place consequences for not hiring qualified Chahta people when they apply, and he has met with former chief candidate and longtime Chahta election reformist attorney Doug Dry and requested he be a part of an election reform committee.  These changes have been unheard of for forty some odd years.  Is there much more reform that needs to take place, absolutely and I am sure I will be writing about it because the Chahta people have a right to know from someone whose only motive is the betterment of the Chahta people.

I have read that I am a traitor to the reform movement for writing what I have written in the last two blog posts and I say this to you and yours:  No one will tell me what to write and the fact that you want to control it makes you no different than the current administration holding hostage the tribal paper, which by the way Miko has promised to open to candidates running for Choctaw leadership positions.

In my first few blog posts I made a list of what I wanted to see change within the CNO:

  • “Current Choctaw Nation Employees” published 1/7/2012 TERO or Choctaw Employee Rights Organization – Chief Batton has implemented an employee rights department and has encouraged strongly the rights of Choctaw employees
  • “Choctaw Registered Voter Contact Information” published 2/28/2012 – Calls for the release of the voter list which is being discussed through Chief’s Election Reform Committee
  • “An Unelected Chief” published 4/8/2012 – A call to be able to vote for our own Chief – the current Chief willing to campaign in a fair and unbiased election is a true sign of giving power back to the people

So call me what you want I will write from the perspective of a Chahta woman only wanting the best for my family and I will not dismiss the very real progress made by the current Chief.  Honestly, I didn’t think I would see it in my lifetime so I apologize to Chief Batton for underestimating him.

As for mudslinging I wrote the truth with evidence and I asked questions concerning the hypocrisy of a self-proclaimed leader of the reform movement who had admitted in court breaking federal campaign laws in her own campaign.  So if you call that mudslinging after what was written, pictures that were posted and jokes that were published concerning the trial then once again turn that microscope on yourself because ethics don’t apply only when you want them to.

As for the current administration the time for secrecy has passed.  Another tribal leader used to publish “The Report to The People” which was a glossy papered report of the budget with a narrative explaining the reasoning behind the expenses and mailed to every member who received the tribal newspaper.  This is transparency.

We as Chahta deserve to know the governing of our people through our tribal paper because that is the most used media outlet read by Choctaw people.  We are not children who need to be sheltered from the truth we are professional hard working people who want to know our tribe is in good hands.

I, for one, am excited by the progress made by our new Chief and look forward to even further reform.

Yakoke

CW

